Into the madness

Cushing’s syndrome is a cruel illness. You suffer for years as diagnosis on average takes five years. My diagnosis took ten. Everyone overlooked my steroid inhaler. No one worked it out but why would they – they still believed inhaled steroids goes to your lungs and not your bloodstream!

Everything under the sun was blamed for my endless symptoms over those ten years. At first its subtle, the terrible anxiety, the weight creeping up, the insomnia, your blood pressure getting higher, the list is endless – the feeling that something’s wrong but no one believing you.

A rare illness that makes you fat and gives you an array of symptoms gets lost in a world of morbidly obese people who have chosen to eat and drink their way to obesity. You become lost in the system. You appear just the same as them.

You’re fat, tired, anxious, sweating, not sleeping, getting weaker and sicker by the day but the second you walk into a doctor’s office he’s glanced up and assessed you in a split second. They immediately come to the conclusion that you are unhealthy and obviously stuff your face and don’t exercise.

You can plead all you like about how ill you feel but you will not be believed no matter what you do or say. Instead you struggle on feeling so ill you don’t know what to do or where to go for help. There is no help at that stage at all. You blame yourself and convince yourself that it’s your fault. It must be something I’m doing wrong.

You never think you’ll get ill. When you’re well and hear about terrible illnesses you try your hardest to put any fears to the back of your mind. You can’t think about something like that and it happens to other people not you.  It’s a strange existence living with a chronic illness. This is something I had never thought about at all, I didn’t know anyone with a chronic illness and had no idea how devastating they can be to your life.

I became ill very gradually at first. The symptoms very much appeared to be the dreaded start of the menopause and this was the first diagnosis I was given.  I challenged the Doctor over this diagnosis as I was only 40 years old at the time. He assured me that many woman have started the menopause at this age and at that time I was still stupidly believing everything a Doctor told me. A catastrophic mistake that carried on for many years. I had no idea that a correct diagnosis of menopause should have only been made after hormone blood tests. I didn’t get any blood tests and of course, I didn’t know I should have.  From the symptoms I now know I also had  hypothyroidism at that time but blood tests were not ordered for that either.

I know rare illness is difficult to diagnose, but ten years – honestly – what the hell!

 

